• Domain-based-Message-Authentication-Reporting-and-Conformance-DMARC

Sender Reputation and Email Security – Part  4: Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance (DMARC)

With SPF and DKIM, you can ensure the authenticity and integrity of emails and protect yourself and your company from phishing attacks and spam. But how do you deal with non-authenticated emails? And how can you be sure that no one is writing fake emails to your customers and partners in the name of your domain?

In the fourth part of our series of articles on sender reputation, we show you how you can use Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance (DMARC) to determine how the receiving server should authenticate your emails and what it should do if authentication fails. In addition, we explain how you can use DMARC to quickly be informed about abuse of your domain and thus protect the reputation of your domain.

In the previous articles in this series, we looked at different technologies that you can use to protect yourself and your company against attacks from the Internet:

  • Sender Policy Framework (SPF)

    Sender Policy Framework (SPF) allows you to specify all IP addresses of the Mail Transfer Agents (MTAs), i.e. the servers that are allowed to send emails on behalf of your own domain.

  • DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM)

    DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM) allows you to cryptographically secure outbound emails, making the authenticity and integrity of these emails verifiable.

With SPF and DKIM, you can therefore ensure the authenticity and integrity of emails. However, neither SPF nor DKIM give the receiving server explicit instructions on what to do with emails that have not successfully passed the SPF and DKIM checks. This gap is closed by Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance (DMARC).

What is Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance (DMARC)?

DMARC is an official IETF standard that builds on SPF and DKIM to reduce threats from phishing emails and spam. It answers the following questions:

  • How should the receiving server perform the authentication?

  • What should happen in case of a failed check?

  • Who should the receiving server inform about the authentication measures performed and the result?

In other words, DMARC allows an email sender to include additional information for processing sent emails. It tells the recipient

  • how emails sent by him should be authenticated,
  • what should happen to non-authenticated emails and
  • to whom and how often reports should be sent back to the sender.

How does DMARC work?

To activate DMARC, the owner of a domain deposits a DMARC policy in his DNS zone. As with SPF and DKIM, the DMARC policy is stored in an RFC-standardised TXT record.

The policy contains information on which checks must be made by the recipient, i.e. SPF and/or DKIM. In addition, it specifies what the recipient should do if the checks fail: accept anyway, quarantine or reject.

Furthermore, the DMARC policy specifies email addresses to which reports are to be sent – the R in DMARC stands for reporting. These reports are generated by all servers on the Internet that support DMARC in receiving emails and have received emails from the respective domain. In addition, to prevent the amount of data generated by the reports from becoming too large, the DMARC policy can specify the percentage of emails for which a report is generated. Furthermore, the reports are collected and sent to the respective reporting address only once a day by default.

What does a DMARC entry look like?

The TXT entry used for a DMARC policy can contain the following fields:

FieldDescriptionExamples
vVersion of the DMARC entryv=DMARC1
pPolicy on how to handle emails from the main domain that fail authenticationp=none: no action
p=quarantine: quarantine
p=reject: reject
spPolicy on how to handle emails of the subdomain whose authentication failsp=none: no action
p=quarantine: quarantine
p=reject: reject
pctPercentage of emails to be reported according to DMARC policypct=100 (default)
ruaSpecifies whether and to which email address an aggregated report of the received emails should be sentrua=mailto:report@example.com
rufDetermines whether and to which email address a forensic report on the received emails is to be sent. This report contains all details about the respective emails. Take note of data protection.ruf=mailto:report@example.com
foFailure Reporting Options. Detailed setting for when emails are to be reported. Only applies in connection with “ruf”. fo=0: SPF and DKIM have failed (default)
fo=1: SPF or DKIM have failed
fo=d: DKIM is considered failed if the signature is not correct – even if the key matches.
fo=s: SPF is considered failed if the SPF evaluation fails for any reason, even if the SPF records in the header and DNS record match.
rfReporting Format. The file format for the reports. Only applies in connection with “ruf”.rf=afrf: Authentication Failure Reporting Format (default)
rf=iodef: Incident Object Description Exchange Format
riReporting Interval. Frequency in seconds at which reports are sent.ri=86400, once a day (default)
aspfAlignment mode for the SPF checks=strict, i.e. strict. The ‘MAIL FROM’ address must exactly match the Header-From address. Example: info@example.com
r=relaxed, i.e. loose. It may also be a subdomain. Example: info@newsletter.example.com
For more information, see mxtoolbox.
adkimAlignment mode for the DKIM checksee above

Examples of DMARC entries

dhl.com
v=DMARC1; p=reject; fo=0; rua=mailto:dmarc-reports@dhl.com, mailto:dmarc_agg@vali.email

Here, all non-authenticated emails are rejected if SPF and DKIM checks have failed (fo=0). In addition, aggregated reports are sent to the specified addresses.

gmail.com
v=DMARC1; p=none; sp=quarantine; rua=mailto:mailauth-reports@google.com
For non-authenticated emails to the main domain, nothing is done here, non-authenticated emails to the subdomain are quarantined. Since fo=0 is the default setting, these rules apply if SPF and DKIM checks have failed, even if it is not explicitly stated.

DMARC with SPF and DKIM

DMARC check

The different possibilities in DMARC testing with SPF and DKIM (highly simplified). A complete overview can be found here.

What can happen without DMARC? An example.

Imagine that your partners and customers are contacted using your domain and instructed to use a new (false) bank account for the payment of invoices from now on. Since the fake email can build on a previous communication history with the help of malware such as Emotet and uses your company’s domain, the fraud is not noticed at first and payments are made to the criminals’ account.

Only after the payment deadline has not been reached do you contact a customer. In the conversation that follows, it becomes clear that the money was indeed transferred weeks ago, but unfortunately to the wrong account.

DMARC could have prevented this with a reject policy, because then the non-authenticated email would have been rejected. Receiving servers sending DMARC reports would also have informed you in a timely manner about the failed SPF and DKIM checks as part of the reporting function. It is important to mention here that these protection mechanisms only take effect if the recipient has also implemented DMARC.

Protect the reputation of your domain

DMARC thus protects against phishing attacks and the resulting financial damage, but in addition, you prevent criminals from using your email domains to send masses of spam or phishing emails and thus destroy the domain reputation.

This abuse of your domain namely leads in many cases to the IP addresses of sending email servers ending up on block lists and being rejected by receiving email servers in the future. This means not only a danger for the communication flow between you and your customers and partners, but above all a great risk for the reputation of your domain.

How to check your DMARC record

With the help of tools such as mxtoolbox, you can quickly and easily check whether there is a DMARC record for your domain.

How to create a DMARC entry

(German only)

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Best practices for implementing DMARC

We recommend implementing DMARC in several steps. Start with just monitoring your domain and gradually expand the policy to rejecting all emails that fail the DMARC check (p=reject).

Monitor

Start with monitoring only a subdomain and/or main domain and request the regular reports. For this step, the use of SPF and DKIM is not yet required. The corresponding DMARC entry could look like this:
“v=DMARC1; p=none; sp=none; rua=mailto:report@example.com”

Set up quarantine policy

Before you perform this step, you must have fully implemented SPF and DKIM. Once you have done this, implement a DMARC quarantine policy. This instructs receiving servers to put emails from your domain that do not pass DMARC checking into the spam folder. The corresponding DMARC entry might look like this:
“v=DMARC1; p=quarantine; sp=quarantine; rua=mailto:report@example.com”

Reject all non-authenticated emails

In the final step, you instruct receiving servers to reject emails from your domain that do not pass DMARC checks. The corresponding DMARC entry might look like this:
“v=DMARC1; p=reject; sp=reject; rua=mailto:report@example.com”

Set up DMARC and improve email security

Domain owners have improved control over their company’s electronic communication and improve the security of their IT infrastructure with the help of DMARC. Surveys have also shown that the use of domain as a sender address in spam mails decreases significantly once the domain is DMARC-protected.

The use of DMARC as an influencing factor for sender reputation is a milestone for security and efficiency in email communication. At the same time, it means that one does not fall behind in comparison to spam senders, since word has also spread there about the advantage DMARC-protected domains offer. The evaluation of the sender’s reputation is an extremely reliable instrument in the fight against constantly increasing amounts of spam and increasingly perfidious attack scenarios with malware.

Absenderreputation und E-Mail-Sicherheit – Teil 4: Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance (DMARC)

Mit SPF und DKIM können Sie die Authentizität und Integrität von E-Mails sicherstellen und sich und Ihr Unternehmen vor Phishing-Angriffen und Spam schützen. Wie aber gehen Sie mit nicht-authentifizierten E-Mails um? Und wie können Sie sicher sein, dass niemand im Namen Ihrer Domäne gefälschte E-Mails an Ihre Kunden und Partner schreibt?

Im vierten Teil unserer Artikelserie zur Absenderreputation zeigen wir Ihnen, wie Sie mit Hilfe von Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance (DMARC) festlegen können, wie der empfangende Server die Authentifizierung Ihrer E-Mails durchführen und was er bei fehlgeschlagener Authentifizierung tun soll. Außerdem erklären wir, wie Sie mit Hilfe von DMARC schnell über den Missbrauch Ihrer Domäne informiert werden und so die Reputation Ihrer Domäne schützen können.

In den vorangegangenen Artikeln dieser Serie haben wir unterschiedliche Technologien beleuchtet, mit denen Sie sich und Ihr Unternehmen vor Angriffen aus dem Internet schützen können:

  • Sender Policy Framework (SPF)

    Sender Policy Framework (SPF) erlaubt es Ihnen, alle IP-Adressen der Mail Transfer Agents (MTAs) – also der Server – anzugeben, die im Namen der eigenen Domain E-Mails versenden dürfen.

  • DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM)

    DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM) erlaubt es Ihnen, ausgehende E-Mails kryptographisch abzusichern und so die Authentizität und Integrität dieser E-Mails überprüfbar zu machen.

Mit SPF und DKIM können Sie also die Authentizität und Integrität von E-Mails sicherstellen. Allerdings geben weder SPF noch DKIM dem empfangenden Server klare Anweisungen, was mit E-Mails passieren soll, die die SPF- und DKIM-Prüfungen nicht erfolgreich bestanden haben. Diese Lücke schließt Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance (DMARC).

Was ist Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance (DMARC)?

DMARC ist ein offizieller IETF-Standard, der auf SPF und DKIM aufsetzt und Bedrohungen durch Phishing-E-Mails und Spam verringert. Er beantwortet die folgenden Fragen:

  • Wie soll der empfangende Server die Authentifizierung vornehmen?

  • Was soll im Falle einer fehlgeschlagenen Überprüfung passieren?

  • Wen soll der empfangende Server über die durchgeführten Authentifizierungsmaßnahmen und das Ergebnis informieren?

In anderen Worten erlaubt es DMARC einem E-Mail-Absender, zusätzliche Informationen zur Verarbeitung von gesendeten E-Mails mitzugeben. Er teilt dem Empfänger mit,

  • wie von ihm gesendete E-Mails authentifiziert werden sollen,
  • was mit nicht-authentifizierten E-Mails passieren soll und
  • an wen und wie oft Berichte zurück an den Absender gesendet werden sollen.

Wie funktioniert DMARC?

Um DMARC zu aktivieren, hinterlegt der Inhaber einer Domäne eine DMARC-Richtlinie in seiner DNS-Zone. Wie bei SPF und DKIM auch wird die DMARC-Richtlinie in einem RFC-normierten TXT-Eintrag gespeichert.

Die Richtlinie beinhaltet Information dazu, welche Prüfungen vom Empfänger gemacht werden müssen – also SPF und/oder DKIM. Zusätzlich legt sie fest, was der Empfänger tun soll, wenn die Prüfungen fehlschlagen: trotzdem annehmen, in Quarantäne legen oder abweisen.

Des Weiteren werden in der DMARC-Richtlinie E-Mail-Adressen hinterlegt, an die Berichte geschickt werden sollen – das R in DMARC steht für Reporting. Diese Berichte werden von allen Servern im Internet erstellt, die DMARC beim E-Mail-Empfang unterstützen und E-Mails von der jeweiligen Domain erhalten haben. Um zu verhindern, dass die durch die Berichte erzeugte Menge an Daten zu groß wird, kann in der DMARC-Richtlinie außerdem der Prozentsatz an E-Mails bestimmt werden, für die ein Bericht generiert wird. Des Weiteren werden die Berichte gesammelt und standardmäßig nur einmal am Tag an die jeweilige Reporting-Adresse geschickt.

Wie sieht ein DMARC-Eintrag aus?

Der für eine DMARC-Richtlinie eingesetzte TXT-Eintrag kann die folgenden Felder enthalten:

FeldBedeutungBeispiele
vVersion des DMARC-Eintragsv=DMARC1
pPolicy, wie E-Mails der Hauptdomäne behandelt werden sollen, deren Authentifizierung fehlschlägtp=none: nichts unternehmen
p=quarantine: in Quarantäne legen
p=reject: abweisen
spPolicy, wie E-Mails der Subdomäne behandelt werden sollen, deren Authentifizierung fehlschlägtp=none: nichts unternehmen
p=quarantine: in Quarantäne legen
p=reject: abweisen
pctProzentsatz an E-Mails, die gemäß der DMARC-Richtlinie reportet werden sollenpct=100 (Standard)
ruaLegt fest, ob und an welche E-Mail-Adresse ein summarischer Bericht („aggregated report“) über die empfangenen E-Mails gesendet werden soll. rua=mailto:report@example.com
rufLegt fest, ob und an welche E-Mail-Adresse ein forensischer Bericht über die empfangenen E-Mails gesendet werden soll. Dieser enthält alle Details zu den jeweiligen E-Mails. Datenschutz beachten!ruf=mailto:report@example.com
foFailure Reporting Options. Detaileinstellung, wann E-Mails gemeldet werden sollen. Gilt nur in Verbindung mit “ruf”. fo=0: SPF und DKIM sind fehlgeschlagen (Standard)
fo=1: SPF oder DKIM sind fehlgeschlagen
fo=d: DKIM gilt als fehlgeschlagen, wenn die Signatur nicht stimmt – auch dann, wenn der Schlüssel übereinstimmt.
fo=s: SPF gilt als fehlgeschlagen, wenn die SPF-Evaluation aus irgendeinem Grund scheitert, auch dann, wenn die SPF-Einträge in Kopfzeile und DNS-Eintrag übereinstimmen.
rfReporting Format. Das Dateiformat für die Berichte. Gilt nur in Verbindung mit “ruf”.rf=afrf: Authentication Failure Reporting Format (Standard)
rf=iodef: Incident Object Description Exchange Format
riReporting Interval. Häufigkeit in Sekunden, in der Berichte gesendet werden.ri=86400, also einmal täglich (Standard)
aspfAbgleichmodus für die Prüfung von SPFs=strict, also streng. Die ‘MAIL FROM’-Adresse muss exakt mit der Header-From-Adresse übereinstimmen. Beispiel: info@example.com
r=relaxed, also locker. Es darf sich auch um eine Subdomäne handeln. Beispiel: info@newsletter.example.com
Weitere Informationen finden Sie bei mxtoolbox.
adkimAbgleichmodus für die Prüfung von DKIMs.o.

Beispiele für DMARC-Einträge

dhl.com
v=DMARC1; p=reject; fo=0; rua=mailto:dmarc-reports@dhl.com, mailto:dmarc_agg@vali.email

Hier werden alle nicht-authentifizierten E-Mails abgewiesen, wenn SPF- und DKIM-Prüfungen fehlgeschlagen sind (fo=0). Außerdem werden summarische Berichte an die angegebenen Adressen geschickt.

gmail.com
v=DMARC1; p=none; sp=quarantine; rua=mailto:mailauth-reports@google.com
Bei nicht-authentifizierten E-Mails an die Hauptdomäne wird hier nichts unternommen, nicht-authentifizierte E-Mails an die Subdomäne werden in Quarantäne gelegt. Da fo=0 die Standardeinstellung ist, gelten diese Regelungen, wenn SPF- und DKIM-Prüfungen fehlgeschlagen sind – auch wenn es nicht explizit angegeben ist.

DMARC mit SPF und DKIM

DMARC-Prüfung

Die unterschiedlichen Möglichkeiten bei der DMARC-Prüfung mit SPF und DKIM (stark vereinfacht). Eine vollständige Übersicht finden Sie hier.

Was kann ohne DMARC passieren? Ein Beispiel.

Stellen Sie sich vor, unter Benutzung Ihrer Domäne werden Ihre Partner und Kunden angeschrieben und angewiesen, ab sofort eine neue (falsche) Bankverbindung für das Begleichen von Rechnungen zu benutzen. Da die gefälschte E-Mail mit Hilfe von Schadsoftware wie Emotet auf einen vorangegangenen Kommunikationsverlauf aufsetzen kann und die Domäne Ihres Unternehmens nutzt, fällt der Betrug zunächst nicht auf – Zahlungen werden auf das Konto der Kriminellen ausgeführt.

Erst, nachdem das Zahlungsziel nicht erreicht wurde, nehmen Sie Kontakt mit einem Kunden auf. Im dann folgenden Gespräch wird klar, dass das Geld zwar bereits vor Wochen überwiesen wurde, aber leider auf das falsche Konto.

DMARC hätte dies mit einer Abweisen-Richtlinie verhindern können, denn dann wäre die nicht-authentifizierte E-Mail abgewiesen worden. Empfangende Server, die DMARC-Berichte senden, hätten Sie im Rahmen der Berichtsfunktion zudem zeitnah über die fehlgeschlagenen SPF- und DKIM-Prüfungen informiert. Wichtig ist hierbei zu erwähnen, dass diese Schutzmechanismen nur greifen, wenn auch der Empfänger DMARC implementiert hat.

Mit DMARC schützen Sie auch die Reputation Ihrer Domäne

DMARC schützt also vor Phishing-Angriffen und den daraus folgenden finanziellen Schäden – aber zusätzlich verhindern Sie, dass Kriminelle Ihre E-Mail-Domains nutzen, um massenweise Spam- oder Phishing-E-Mails zu versenden und so die Domänen-Reputation zerstören.

Dieser Missbrauch Ihrer Domäne führt nämlich in vielen Fällen dazu, dass die IP-Adressen von sendenden E-Mail-Servern auf Blocklisten landen und künftig von empfangenden E-Mail-Servern abgewiesen wird. Dies bedeutet nicht nur eine Gefahr für den Kommunikationsfluss zwischen Ihnen und Ihren Kunden und Partnern, sondern vor allem auch ein großes Risiko für die Reputation Ihrer Domäne.

DMARC-Eintrag prüfen

Mit Hilfe von Tools wie mxtoolbox können Sie schnell und einfach prüfen, ob für Ihre Domain ein DMARC-Eintrag vorliegt.

DMARC-Eintrag erstellen

Best Practices für Einführung von DMARC

Wir empfehlen, die Implementierung von DMARC in mehreren Schritten vorzunehmen. Fangen Sie bei einer reinen Überwachung Ihrer Domäne an und erweitern Sie die Richtlinie nach und nach bis zum Abweisen aller E-Mails, die die DMARC-Prüfung nicht bestehen (p=reject).

Überwachen

Beginnen Sie mit einer reinen Überwachung einer Unterdomäne und/oder Hauptdomäne und fordern Sie die regelmäßigen Berichte an. Für diesen Schritt ist die Nutzung von SPF und DKIM noch nicht erforderlich. Der entsprechende DMARC-Eintrag könnte folgendermaßen aussehen:
“v=DMARC1; p=none; sp=none; rua=mailto:report@example.com”

Quarantänerichtlinie einrichten

Bevor Sie diesen Schitt durchführen, müssen Sie SPF und DKIM vollständig implementiert haben. Haben Sie dies erledigt, implementieren Sie eine DMARC-Quarantänerichtlinie. Diese weist empfangende Server an, E-Mails von Ihrer Domäne, die die DMARC-Prüfung nicht bestehen, in den Spam-Ordner zu legen. Der entsprechende DMARC-Eintrag könnte folgendermaßen aussehen:
“v=DMARC1; p=quarantine; sp=quarantine; rua=mailto:report@example.com”

Abweisen aller nicht-authentifizierten E-Mails

Im letzten Schritt weisen Sie empfangende Server an, E-Mails von Ihrer Domäne, die die DMARC-Prüfung nicht bestehen, abzuweisen. Der entsprechende DMARC-Eintrag könnte folgendermaßen aussehen:
“v=DMARC1; p=reject; sp=reject; rua=mailto:report@example.com”

DMARC einrichten und E-Mail-Sicherheit verbessern

Domänen-Inhaber haben mit Hilfe von DMARC eine verbesserte Kontrolle über die elektronische Kommunikation ihres Unternehmens und verbessern die Sicherheit ihrer IT-Infrastruktur. Erhebungen haben auch gezeigt, dass die Verwendung von Domäne als Absende-Adresse in Spam-Mails deutlich nachlässt, sobald die Domain DMARC-geschützt ist.

Die Nutzung von DMARC als Einflussgröße für die Senderreputation ist ein Meilenstein für die Sicherheit und Effizienz in der E-Mail-Kommunikation. Sie bedeutet gleichzeitig, dass man im Vergleich zu Spam-Versendern nicht ins Hintertreffen gerät, da sich auch dort herumgesprochen hat, welchen Vorteil DMARC-geschützte Domänen bieten. Die Bewertung der Reputation des Absenders ist ein äußerst verlässliches Instrument im Kampf gegen stetig steigende Mengen an Spam und immer perfider werdende Angriffsszenarien mit Malware.