• blank

Sender Reputation and Email Security – Part 2: Sender Policy Framework (SPF)

How can you know that the emails you have received today really originate from the specified senders? In other words: that the emails are authentic and that the senders indicated in the email client are the real senders?

Emails are a bit like letters – you can write whatever you want on the envelope and on the letterhead with a bit of trickery. With emails, trickery is even particularly easy. And cyber criminals exploit this shamelessly: Emails sent using fake sender addresses, for example, are a popular way to distribute attachments contaminated with Trojans and other malware.

What is SPF?

SPF, DKIM, DMARC and ARC are essential technologies for the detection of fake sender domains as well as for the defence against phishing attacks. Part 2 of our series of articles on sender reputation focuses on a method to authorise specific IP addresses to send emails: Sender Policy Framework (SPF) is a simple and effective method to prevent the misuse of sender domains.

How to specify legitimate IP addresses with SPF

An email always has two sender addresses:

Envelope Sender

The envelope sender is the address that is passed as the MAIL FROM: parameter and is ultimately relevant for the transport. It is usually not displayed in email clients.

Header From

The Header From is the address that is visible in the email client as the sender. It is comparable to the sender on the letterhead.

The problem arises when criminals try to send phishing emails via a fake ‘MAIL FROM’ address. This is exactly where Sender Policy Framework (SPF) comes into play.

How does Sender Policy Framework (SPF) work?

In the SPF record, the owner of a domain specifies in the Domain Name System (DNS) all IP addresses of the Mail Transfer Agents (MTAs), i.e. the servers that are allowed to send emails in the name of that domain. To do this, he or she creates a so-called SPF record in the corresponding DNS zone. Technically, this is a TXT record whose syntax is exactly specified in RFC7208.

The receiving server then checks which domain is specified in the ‘MAIL FROM’ address and determines by means of a DNS query whether an SPF record exists for the domain. If this is the case, it retrieves the information and compares the IP address of the sending MTA with the permitted addresses. If the IP address of the sending MTA does not appear in the SPF record of the domain, it is not authorised to send emails on behalf of this domain.

What does an SPF entry look like?

As already mentioned, an SPF entry is a simple TXT file. All SPF entries start with the version number. Currently, the corresponding specification is v=spf1. The expressions that follow are processed from front to back. Most of these expressions are so-called directives that make a statement about the authorisation of a sender. They describe whether the respective sender is authorised to send the email.

Qualifiers

Qualifiers define authorised or unauthorised senders and describe how they are to be handled.

QualifierCodeDescription
+PassThe sender is authorised (default), the email will be accepted.
FailThe sender is not authorised, the email will not be accepted.
~SoftFailThe sender is not authorised but the email will be accepted and marked as spam.
?NeutralNo evaluation, the email will be accepted.

Mechanisms

A mechanism returns a match or no match for an IP address. Here is an overview of the most common mechanisms:

MechanismWhen does the policy apply?
allAlways
aIf an A (or AAAA) record of the queried (or explicitly specified) domain contains the IP address of the sender.
mxIf an MX record of the queried (or explicitly specified) domain contains the IP address of the sender.
ip4If the specified IPv4 address is the address of the sender or the specified IPv4 subnet contains this address.
ip6If the specified IPv6 address is the address of the sender or the specified IPv6 subnet contains this address.
includeIf an additional SPF request to the domain specified in the include statement contains the IP address of the sender.
redirectIP address of the sender legitimised by the SPF record of another domain.

Example of an SPF record

v=spf1 +mx:netatwork.de +ip4:80.66.20.18 +ip4:80.82.206.0/26 include:spf.protection.outlook.com +a:vwp15685.webpack.hosteurope.de +ip4:193.37.132.2 +ip4:193.37.132.101 include:customers.clickdimensions.com -all

In this example, different mechanisms are used to legitimise IP addresses for sending:

mx: IP addresses listed in the corresponding MX record are allowed to send emails.
ip4: IP addresses explicitly named here are allowed to send emails.
a: Servers hosting the websites with the specified domains are allowed to send emails.
include: Additional domains whose SPF entries are included.
-all: All IP addresses not named here are NOT allowed to send!

How to check your SPF record

With the help of tools such as mxtoolbox, you can quickly and easily check whether there is an SPF record for your domain. You have two options to do this:

How to create an SPF Record

In our video we show you how to create an SPF Record step-by-step.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Should I use SPF?

Yes, but the sole use of SPF records to protect one’s own domain and to check inbound emails is only helpful to a limited extent. If SPF alone is used, the email administrator must keep an eye on all changes to his infrastructure, because the SPF record must always be up-to-date. This includes not only the email servers responsible for sending, but also the associated IP addresses.

In addition, servers that are not in one’s own network and for which there is normally no authorisation must also be taken into account. This applies above all to newsletter delivery services or other services via which emails are redirected. However, reputable providers always offer their customers an ‘include’, which legitimises the corresponding MTA. But problems can also arise with redirections if the ‘MAIL FROM’ address contains the original domain, but the email was sent via a different IP address.

Without comprehensive monitoring of the infrastructure used, this can quickly lead to errors in the SPF check, because the server processing the email is usually not listed in the SPF record of the original sender domain.

The problem of redirection and forwarding is mitigated by the use of other technologies such as ARC, DKIM and DMARC, which we also highlight in this series of articles.

What SPF does not do

SPF is an easy-to-implement means to prevent domain abuse and is increasingly adopted and even required. Nevertheless, the impact of SPF on email security is limited:

  • SPF does not protect against forgery of the header-from address, i.e. spoofing of the sender address displayed by the email client.
  • Spammers might also use SPF.
  • SPF does not help if someone sends unauthorised emails via your email server.

Improve your email security with NoSpamProxy and SPF

NoSpamProxy consistently evaluates SPF entries and adjusts the Level of Trust score accordingly if the sending MTA is not listed in the respective SPF entry of the sender. If an email cannot be authenticated based on the SPF entry, no Level of Trust points are awarded – this only happens if the sender address of the email can be authenticated at least by a valid SPF entry or other criteria. A valid SPF entry thus improves the reputation rating by NoSpamProxy.

SPF is an important building block for improving email hygiene, but should always be accompanied by DKIM, DMARC and ARC.

Absenderreputation und E-Mail-Sicherheit – Teil 2: Sender Policy Framework (SPF)

Woher wissen Sie eigentlich, dass die E-Mails, die Sie heute bekommen haben, wirklich von den angegebenen Absendern stammen? In anderen Worten: dass die E-Mails authentisch sind und die im E-Mail-Programm angegebenen Absender auch die tatsächlichen Absender sind?

Mit E-Mails ist es nämlich ein bisschen so wie mit Briefen – auf den Umschlag und das Briefpapier kann man mit ein bisschen Trickserei drauf schreiben, was man will. Bei E-Mails sind die Tricksereien sogar besonders einfach. Und das nutzen Cyberkriminelle auch schamlos aus: Mit Hilfe von gefälschten Absenderadressen versendete E-Mails sind beispielsweise ein beliebter Weg, mit Trojanern verseuchte Anhänge sowie andere Schadsoftware zu verteilen.

Was ist SPF?

SPF, DKIM, DMARC und ARC sind essenzielle Technologien für die Erkennung von gefälschten Absenderdomains sowie zur Abwehr von Phishing-Angriffen. In Teil 2 unserer Artikelserie zur Absenderreputation geht es um eine Methode, mit der bestimmte IP-Adressen für das Senden von E-Mails autorisiert werden können: Sender Policy Framework (SPF) ist eine einfache und wirksame Methode, um den Missbrauch von Absenderdomains zu verhindern.

Mit SPF legitime IP-Adressen definieren

Eine E-Mail hat immer zwei Absenderadressen:

Envelope Sender

Der Envelope Sender ist die Adresse, die als Parameter MAIL FROM: übergeben wird und letztlich relevant für den Transport ist. In E-Mail-Programmen wird sie meist nicht angezeigt.

Header From

Der Header From ist die Adresse, die im E-Mail-Programm als Absender sichtbar ist. Sie ist mit dem Absender auf dem Briefpapier vergleichbar.

Problematisch wird es, wenn Kriminelle versuchen, Phishing-Mails über eine gefälschte ‚MAIL FROM‘-Adresse zu versenden. Genau hier greift Sender Policy Framework (SPF).

Wie funktioniert Sender Policy Framework (SPF)?

Im SPF gibt der Inhaber einer Domain im Domain Name System (DNS) alle IP-Adressen der Mail Transfer Agents (MTAs) – also der Server – an, die im Namen der eigenen Domain E-Mails versenden dürfen. Dazu erstellt er in der entsprechenden DNS-Zone einen sogenannten SPF-Eintrag (SPF Record). Technisch gesehen handelt es sich hierbei um einen TXT-Eintrag (TXT Record), dessen Syntax in der RFC7208 exakt spezifiziert ist.

Der empfangende Server prüft dann, welche Domain in der ‚MAIL FROM‘-Adresse angegeben ist und ermittelt im Rahmen einer DNS-Abfrage, ob für die Domain ein SPF-Eintrag existiert. Ist dies der Fall, liest er die Informationen aus und vergleicht die IP-Adresse des sendenden MTA mit den erlaubten Adressen. Taucht die IP-Adresse des einliefernden MTA nicht im SPF-Eintrag der Domain auf, ist er für den Versand von E-Mails im Namen dieser Domain nicht autorisiert.

Wie sieht ein SPF-Eintrag aus?

Wie bereits erwähnt, handelt es sich bei einem SPF-Eintrag um eine einfache TXT-Datei. Alle SPF-Einträge beginnen mit der Angabe der Versionsnummer. Aktuell lautet die entsprechende Angabe v=spf1. Die dann folgenden Ausdrücke werden von vorne nach hinten verarbeitet. Die meisten dieser Ausdrücke sind sogenannte Direktiven, die eine Aussage zur Autorisierung eines Absenders treffen. Sie beschreiben also, ob der jeweilige Absender zum Senden der E-Mail berechtigt ist.

Qualifikatoren

Qualifikatoren definieren autorisierte beziehungsweise nicht autorisierte Sender und beschreiben, wie diese behandelt werden sollen.

QualifikatorCodeBeschreibung
+PassSender ist autorisiert (Standard), E-Mail wird angenommen.
FailSender ist nicht autorisiert, E-Mail wird nicht angenommen.
~SoftFailSender ist nicht autorisiert, wird aber angenommen und als Spam markiert.
?NeutralKeine Aussage über den Sender, E-Mail wird angenommen.

Mechanismen

Ein Mechanismus liefert für eine IP-Adresse einen oder keinen Treffer. Hier eine Übersicht der gebräuchlichsten Mechanismen:

MechanismusWann trifft die Direktive zu?
allImmer
aWenn ein A-(oder AAAA-)Eintrag der befragten (oder explizit angegebenen) Domain die IP-Adresse des Senders enthält.
mxWenn ein MX-Eintrag der befragten (oder explizit angegebenen) Domain die IP-Adresse des Senders enthält.
ip4Wenn die angegebene IPv4-Adresse die Adresse des Senders ist oder das angegebene IPv4-Subnetz diese Adresse enthält.
ip6Wenn die angegebene IPv6-Adresse die Adresse des Senders ist oder das angegebene IPv6-Subnetz diese enthält.
includeWenn eine zusätzliche SPF-Anfrage zur im Include-Statement angegebenen Domain die IP-Adresse des Senders enthält.
redirectIP-Adresse des Senders, die durch den SPF-Eintrag einer anderen Domain legitimiert wird.

Beispiel eines SPF-Eintrags

v=spf1 +mx:netatwork.de +ip4:80.66.20.18 +ip4:80.82.206.0/26 include:spf.protection.outlook.com +a:vwp15685.webpack.hosteurope.de +ip4:193.37.132.2 +ip4:193.37.132.101 include:customers.clickdimensions.com -all

In diesem Beispiel kommen verschiedene Mechanismen zum Einsatz, über die IP-Adressen zum Senden legitimiert werden:

  •  mx: IP-Adressen, die im entsprechenden MX-Eintrag gelistet sind, dürfen E-Mails senden.
  • ip4: Hier explizit genannte IP-Adressen dürfen E-Mails senden.
  • a: Server, die die Websites mit den angegebenen Domains hosten, dürfen E-Mails senden.
  • include: Zusätzliche Domains, deren SPF-Einträge verwertet werden.
  • -all: Alle nicht genannten IP-Adressen dürfen NICHT senden!

SPF-Eintrag prüfen

Mit Hilfe von Tools wie mxtoolbox können Sie schnell und einfach prüfen, ob für Ihre Domain ein SPF-Eintrag vorliegt. Sie haben dazu zwei Möglichkeiten:

SPF Record erstellen

Wir zeigen Ihnen in unserem Video Schritt-für-Schritt, wie Sie einen SPF Record erstellen können.

Ist der Einsatz von SPF sinnvoll?

Ja, allerdings ist der alleinige Einsatz von SPF-Einträgen zum Schutz der eigenen Domain und bei der Prüfung eingehender E-Mails nur bedingt hilfreich. Wird allein SPF eingesetzt, muss der E-Mail-Administrator alle Änderungen seiner Infrastruktur im Auge behalten, denn die Aktualität des SPF-Eintrags muss in jedem Fall sichergestellt sein. Dies beinhaltet nicht nur die E-Mail-Server, die für den Versand zuständig sind, sondern auch die dazugehörigen IP-Adressen.

Außerdem müssen auch Server berücksichtigt werden, die nicht im eigenen Netzwerk stehen und für die im Normalfall keine Autorisierung vorliegt. Dies gilt vor allem für Newsletter-Versanddienste oder andere Dienste, über die E-Mails umgeleitet werden. Seriöse Anbieter bieten ihren Kunden allerdings immer ein ‘include’ an, womit der entsprechende MTA legitimiert wird. Aber auch bei Weiterleitungen können Probleme entstehen, wenn die ‘MAIL FROM’-Adresse die ursprüngliche Domain enthält, die E-Mail aber über eine andere IP-Adresse versendet wurde.

Ohne eine flächendeckende Überwachung der eingesetzten Infrastruktur kann es so schnell zu Fehlern bei der SPF-Prüfung kommen, weil der weiterverarbeitende Server in der Regel nicht im SPF-Eintrag der ursprünglichen Absenderdomain gelistet ist.

Das Problem der Um- und Weiterleitungen wird durch den Einsatz weiterer Technologien wie ARC, DKIM und DMARC entschärft, die wir ebenfalls im Rahmen dieser Artikelserie beleuchten.

Was SPF nicht kann

SPF ist ein einfach zu implementierendes Mittel, um Domainmissbrauch zu verhindern und wird in zunehmendem Maße ein- und sogar vorausgesetzt. Dennoch ist der Einfluss von SPF auf die E-Mail-Sicherheit begrenzt:

  • SPF schützt nicht vor dem Fälschen der Header-From-Adresse, also dem Spoofing der Absenderadresse, die vom E-Mail-Client angezeigt wird.
  • Auch Spammer können SPF verwenden.
  • SPF hilft nicht, wenn jemand unerlaubt E-Mails über Ihren E-Mail-Server versendet.

Mit NoSpamProxy und SPF E-Mail-Sicherheit verbessern

NoSpamProxy wertet SPF-Einträge konsequent aus und passt die Bewertung durch Level of Trust entsprechend an, falls der sendende MTA nicht im jeweiligen SPF-Eintrag des Absenders gelistet ist. Falls eine E-Mail auf Basis des SPF-Eintrags nicht authentifiziert werden kann, werden keine Level-of-Trust-Punkte vergeben – dies geschieht nur, falls die Absenderadresse der E-Mail mindestens durch einen gültigen SPF-Eintrag oder weitere Kriterien authentifiziert werden kann. Ein gültiger SPF-Eintrag verbessert somit die Bewertung der Reputation durch NoSpamProxy.

SPF ist ein wichtiger Baustein zur Verbesserung der E-Mail-Hygiene, sollte aber immer durch DKIM, DMARC und ARC begleitet werden.